Sigh...Another Picture...kmc,2012.

Why’d You Take That Picture? Pets Are Humorous In Their Body Language…

Body language in animals. Facial expression in pets. Have you ever truly watched your pets or caught them in a comic moment? Just as we are fascinated with humans and what their body expressions might mean, I’ve caught my pets in some amusing, endearing and loving moments on film. Here are the best of them.

Starting with Little Gray, my household cat.

What's Outside,kmc,2012

What’s Outside?kmc,2012.

Big Beautiful Eyes, kmc, 2012.

Big Beautiful Eyes, kmc, 2012.

Say What?kmc,2012.

Say What? kmc, 2012.

Scratch Here, kmc, 2012.

Scratch Here, kmc, 2012.

Contentment, kmc, 2012.

Contentment, kmc, 2012.

Little Gray lives with two dogs. This next photo I can’t begin to explain. Ophelia, my sheepdog, was lying down. The Gray decided to bum-rush her and roll into Ophelia’s body. They’re all friends in my household, play together and sleep together. What you see in this photo is Little Gray trying to push herself into Ophelia and roll over her. Ophelia had no idea what to do and just layed there, kind of with “wtf” is this cat doing to me attitude. You can see her head  burrowed into Ophelia’s fur. Cat and dog love, I guess.

Cat Loving Dog, kmc, 2012.

Cat Loving Dog, kmc, 2012.

Which brings me to this photo, Ophelia’s “wtf” face.

WTF,kmc,2012.

WTF,kmc,2012.

Then there was this one where it appeared Ophelia was laughing.

LOL,kmc,2012.

LOL,kmc,2012.

But she’s not always laughing. Especially when the neighbor lets her cat outside…

Where's That Damn Neighbors Cat, kmc, 2012.

Where’s That Damn Neighbor’s Cat? kmc, 2012.

But she does have her smiles for Mommy….even if she is wearing her snuggli hoodie in pink….

I Love You Mommy, kmc, 2012.

I Love You Mommy, kmc, 2012.

And when she’s sleeping, she’s out cold….

Down For The Count, kmc, 2012.

Down For The Count, kmc, 2012.

 

Sometimes, a photo comes out really bad. And there’s absolutely nothing I can do to fix it. But I like something about the picture. The faces on the two dogs in this one just appealed to me. Actually, I wouldn’t want to meet them in a dark alley alone…

 

Eyes In The Dark, kmc, 2012.

Eyes In The Dark, kmc, 2012.

 

And let’s just take over the pillow for ourselves, shall we?

 

Comfortably Resting, kmc, 2012.

Comfortably Resting, kmc, 2012.

 

This face says it all. “How many more pictures, Mom?”

 

Sigh...Another Picture...kmc,2012.

Sigh…Another Picture….kmc,2012.

 

Sheeta has posed for photos since I’ve had her. We’ve been together since she’s 3 months old. I think before I taught her the words “sit” and “lay down”, she knew what “wait, Mommy’s taking a picture” and “stay…camera” meant…..she really does know what those words mean. Weird, huh? Maybe, maybe not.

Our animals learn what we teach them. If we teach them love, they learn love. If we teach them aggression, they learn aggression. If we teach them affection, they want to be with us.

You can learn much by looking at the photos of someones pets, just as you can by looking at the photos of their children and their families. The body language and facial expressions don’t lie. It all tells a story when you learn to read it.

There is an expression in my household that I use with my animals. When they are first introduced to each other, I say “kisses only” and repeat this often. I still say it when they sniff at each other. I began that phrase because it reminded me of kissing and when said in a gentle tone they seemed to respond well. It always worked and to this day, my three know “kisses only” means “kisses only”. I believe that’s a sweet thought. Snoot to snoot, kisses only…

Peace.

Sorceress.

Leave a Reply

