GoodnightGeese,kmc,2012.

Why’d You Take That Picture? Monogamous Canadian Geese And Their Goslings…

Canadian Geese. Recently I was privileged to view a few of them visiting and swimming at a nearby lake. Yes, I say privileged. Some people will disagree with me. There are those that feel Canadian Geese are hazardous to humans health. That they are hazardous to humans flight patterns. I am an animal lover and protector of animal rights. What I witnessed I felt was a beautiful vision of animal parenting.

Did you know that Canadian Geese are monogamous creatures? Once mated, they stay mated for life.

Geese 1, kmc, 2012.

Hanging Out, kmc, 2012.

They really do stay together for life. Unless the mate dies. They may then find another and stay with that mate for the rest of their lives. I find that incredible. This photo is of a pretty exclusive couple walking together. I wonder what they’re thinking…

Geese2,kmc,2012.

The Exclusive Couple,kmc,2012.

It seems they definitely have an idea up their wings…

Geese3,kmc,2012.

Idea Up Their Wings, kmc, 2012.

They are extremely protective animals. They look out for their own. They scope out areas first. Their babies, known as goslings, are their primary concern.

Geese 4, kmc, 2012.

At Patrol,kmc,2012.

Now here’s the best part. I wish humans would take a clue from this. The parents work together on parenting. The parents actually take their children, the goslings, for a swim all together. But not only all together,  one parent leads the line and the other parent is at the back of the swimming line. How protective and safe is that?

Geese 5, kmc, 2012.

Parental Protection, kmc, 2012.

Six little ones, all protected from any harm, front and back. What a beautiful scene I was watching. The synergistic effect of these two parents guarding their goslings can be seen in the rippling effects on the waters of the lakes in this photo below:

Geese 6,kmc,2012.

Synergy,kmc,2012.

I was in awe of such dedication and beauty. The geese knew I was watching them. At times, they would look at me. I knew not to move towards them. I had no reason to bother them nor to get close to them. I just wanted to watch them and observe. Perhaps because they felt that I meant them no harm, they allowed me to photograph them. They never once hissed at me or ran. The short time I spent enjoying them will always be remembered and I’m thankful they allowed me to photograph them as they did.

GoodnightGeese,kmc,2012.

Goodnight Geese, kmc, 2012.

 

The monogamous relationship of Canadian Geese and their parenting skills is a wondrous sight and behavior in nature. Perhaps we can take a cue from the animal kingdom, at least for our children’s sakes.

For more information on the Canada Goose see:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canada_Goose.

Peta also has a video, but beware that is might contain graphic images or be disturbing. http://www.peta.org/tv/videos/general-animal-rights/1445797739001.aspx.

 

Peace.

Sorceress.

Leave a Reply

