JustFabulous Online Shoe Club…Or Are They?

 

There is an ad for shoes or handbags that cost $39.95 each. It’s an eye-catcher. As is the model and what she was wearing on her feet and the array of shoes and handbags around her. So you click on the ad. Big mistake.

A video came on instantly with two women that had supposedly started this company. They were reasonably dressed, not too-high fashion and seemed like your typical working women. Nice ploy, nice business model for a company’s advertising.

The ad is for a company called “JustFabulous”. 

Here’s the real deal. For $39.95 a month (if you want), you get a personal shopper that picks out a pair of shoes and a handbag for you. If you don’t like their choice, you simply tell “Just Fabulous” and they will choose another pairing. Sounds great so far, right?

Now they tell you, all you have to do is fill out their simple questionnaire. After all, how do they know what to choose for you…their special customer? You need a personal shopper! (Right, each customer really has a personal shopper) So by looking at pictures of Hollywood stars, pictures of shoes and answering a few questions of whether you would wear certain styles this company now has you pegged and is your new personal shopper. All for $39.95 a month!Wow!

So I take this survey which was actually fun. I admit it. I looked at pictures of the stars. I rated them. They asked me which stores they might find me in. They showed me styles of shoes and asked if I would be caught dead in them or actually wear them. Itdidn’t take long at all.  Normal survey for them to figure out my style preferences.

At the end of the survey, they ask for my email, my name and throw in a few ads to check for email add-ons. Do I want their newsletter? Do I want run-way news? All hype to make me feel that I’m savvy and their merchandise is right up-to-date and I can’t go wrong.

So far, so good. I fill this all out. New page pops up telling me now they want my credit card information. Why? Because if I was really a Just Fabulous customer, I wouldn’tmind giving it to them to prove I wanted to be a real customer. I wouldn’t be wasting their time! You see, it takes their personal shopper oodles of their time to assess my questionnaire, so in return, they want me to prove I’m serious by giving them my credit card number. Oh, and by the way? Don’t worry, because nothing will be charged.

Are they nuts? Do they really think I will give them my credit card number with the three numbers on the back with my mailing address to prove I’m serious? Get real, Just Fabulous! You have a good scam going here, maybe. I can’t prove a thing, of course. But I do know this, I’ve never been asked for my credit card ahead of a purchase just to prove I’m loyal to a company.

Oh yea-you don’t get to see any shoes or handbags or prices or what kind of merchandise you might be sent until you give them that money card too. It’s up to you. Me? I’m no fool parted easily with my money. I choose wisely. Online shopping is risky at best. Those little signs at the bottom of an ad don’t necessarily mean they are a safe company. Be sure to check every company very carefully before you give them your information.

JustFabulous has changed a little since I first wrote this original post a few months ago. They don’t ask for your credit card immediately. Apparently, too many people weren’t falling for that ruse. But in their terms of service, TOS, which you should read if you decide to join their shoe club, you should be forewarned. Once you join their shoe club and purchase one, just one pair of shoes, you will automatically be charged every month for $39.95. That’s if you do not remind JustFabulous that you don’t want something that month. Then they give you a credit. Are you clear on this?

If you decide to purchase a pair of shoes or a handbag, just one time, you are automatically enrolled in their shoe club. With that automatic enrollment, JustFabulous assumes that you will purchase what their personal shopper has chosen for you the following month. You have until the 5th  of every month to cancel the selection, or your credit card will be charged. If you do not cancel this selection, your credit card will be charged $39.95 automatically on the 6th of the month. 

Should you not be able to cancel or take action by the 5th, you then receive a credit. Not a refund, a credit. This credit can then be used towards another purchase.  You’re stuck. They have your money. Although they ship your purchase for free, should you need to return it, there is a $5.95 re-stocking fee. They do use the word “fabulous” often in their advertising, such as “this price includes one fabulous item”, “Due to our fabulous pricing”, and so on.

Some people like the club. JustFabulous has given people links to their site and offered these folks credits on more shoes if people click on these links. Sort of a pyramid-type shoe building link. You can google these blogs about JustFabulous and see how wonderful the shoes are, the posts are gushing about the selections and on and on. These bloggers have an endless supply of credits to purchase more shoes and handbags and gifts from the company with their credits earned from their clickable links.

So why do these people buy & wear those things? Some do because they earned them. Some people actually bought a pair of shoes and liked them and wound up in a shoe club, whether or not they wanted to be in one. Some people joined because they like the idea of someone picking out shoes for them so they don’t have to dress themselves. 

In the meantime, do you really need someone to pick out a pair of shoes for you? Is $39.95 the best deal on a pair of shoes? Is individuality dead? It’s your money to spend, how do you want to spend it?

Peace.

SorceressOfTheDark

It’s your money. What do you want to do with it?

Peace.

Sorceress

Leave a Reply

